Advocacy Program and Guests

Fall 2020 – Fall 2023

Advocacy Talks:

  • Nicholas Dawidoff, Writer
  • Michael Morand, Director of Community Engagement, Beinecke Library, Yale
  • David Blight, Sterling Professor of History, of African American Studies, and of American Studies, Yale
  • Justin Elicker, Mayor of New Haven
  • Mandi Jackson, Co-Executive Director, Music Haven
  • Suzanne Lagarde, C.E.O., Fair Haven Community Health Care
  • Jacob Padrón, Artistic Director, Long Wharf Theatre
  • Eli Sabin, Alder of New Haven, Ward 7
  • Hazel V. Carby, Charles C. & Dorathea S. Dilley Professor Emerita of African American Studies and American Studies, Yale
  • William Ginsberg, President and C.E.O., The Community Foundation for Greater New Haven
  • Daniel HoSang, Associate Professor of Ethnicity, Race, & Migration and American Studies, Yale
  • Claudia Merson, Director of Public Schools Partnerships, Yale
  • Maria Parente, Yale Pathways to Science Program Manager, Office of New Haven State of Affairs
  • Douglas Rae, Richard S. Ely Professor Emeritus of Management and Political Science, Yale
  • Caroline Sarnoff, Executive Director, The Justice Collaboratory, Yale
  • Rev. Frederick Streets, Associate Professor (Adjunct) of Pastoral Theology and former University Chaplain, Yale

Additional committee guests include:

  • Lee Cruz, Outreach Director, The Community Foundation for Greater New Haven
  • Sarah Miller, Fair Haven Alder, Ward 14
  • Christopher Brown, Director, Yale New Haven Hiring Initiative
  • Dean Marvin Chun, Dean of Yale College, Richard M. Colgate Professor of Psychology and Professor of Neuroscience
  • Risë Nelson, Director, Afro-American Cultural Center and Assistant Dean of Yale College
  • Deborah Stanley-McAulay, Associate Vice President for Employee Engagement and Workplace Culture, Yale
  • Jack Callahan, Senior Vice President for Operations, Yale
  • Dean Kerwin K. Charles, Indra K. Nooyi Dean & Frederic D. Wolfe Professor of Economics, Policy & Management, Yale
  • Gary Desir, Vice Provost for Faculty Development and Diversity; Chair, Department of Internal Medicine; and Paul B. Beeson Professor of Medicine; Affiliated Faculty, Yale Institute for Global Health